apologies for my disappearance.

I do realize that it’s June and that I haven’t written since March.

A lot has happened since my last post in March and I apologize for my, should we call it, unannounced hiatus. Life just swept me by my feet and a lot has occurred.

Ever since my last post back in February, I’ve done a lot! I accomplished my first year of college. I made friends that I know I will keep in touch with the rest of my life. I will never forget those countless walks on the Brooklyn Bridge, late night Dunkin’ Donuts runs, movie nights in the dorms and those midnight/1 AM meals. I won’t forget the subway rides, and that 40 block walk with a friend. I won’t ever forget the adventures in Brooklyn with two of my closest friends. And those countless times when I succumbed to my addiction to Chipotle every single time when any friend mentioned going to the fast food restaurant. I mean, where else can you take a walk uptown, get Cold Stone ice cream, walk through Times Square at whatever time at night when it looks like it’s midday. That’s special. That’s what I love about being in the city, and what I love about my college experience so far.

Other notable experiences: St. Patrick’s Day in the city, ventured into Long Island for the first time (Hoboken too!), saw Bethenny Frankel at Barnes and Noble in Union Square, went to the National Museum of Natural History, and to Central Park as well! Also walked through Little Italy in the rain, and saw two apartments in the luxury apartment building – New York by Gehry.

Definitely notable experiences: Witnessed and was a part of the gathering of people at Ground Zero after Osama bin Laden’s death was confirmed. Also was within a block radius of the President of the United States when he visited Ground Zero a week later. I can now say I was a part of history.

A milestone that occurred down the end of the semester was my acceptance as a resident advisor at Pace University for this coming school year! I still cannot believe that I was hired as one;  I am really looking forward to the two-week training program in August and my job as an RA! It will be a lot of work, time commitments but I am so excited to start. At this point, I know I am placed on the 5th floor in the freshman dorm at Pace, which was my first choice! I cannot wait to meet the other RA’s, get to know them and my residents and get started with my sophomore year of college.

On that note, it still hasn’t hit me that I’m going to be a sophomore in college. But I’m going back with a really good outlook. I currently have four goals for myself, to focus on being an RA, crack down on my studies, get deeper into New York and learn more about myself and what exactly I want to be doing for the rest of my life. I am especially excited for this coming year because I now have one year of college behind me and I am ready to tackle all these goals in order to maximize the level of success for myself. It’s going to be a great year!

Two pictures to end with this post: 

Author: Patrick deHahn

International news reporter

Leave a Reply

