2010, a year of change

Looking back on the past year, I remember in the beginning of it all, I wrote on a post-it pad by my bedside in big letters, “2010: A YEAR OF CHANGE.”

And it was one, indeed.

I mean, it was a big year for myself personally. I graduated from high school and I experienced my first semester of college. Those two events were pretty big for me as a growing person. I usually write a little something like a blog about the past year when New Year’s Eve comes around but this time, it was just hard for me to assess the past year of 2010. It’s almost like I don’t even remember what happened. It felt like it was two years instead of a single year. It felt like this because I genuinely think that I enjoyed every moment of every day. I appreciated everything that happened to me and everything that I was a part of last year.

2010 was a year of growth, milestones and change. I don’t remember another year that was as big as 2010. Maybe 2006, when I left Clarke and went onto high school, but this is on a whole other level. During the first half of the year, I was able to enjoy my last semester of high school at The MacDuffie School. I had the time to look back on my amazing high school years and on my own personal past. I also thought about what I really wanted for the future and what I wanted out of myself and my life. It was emotionally difficult to leave MacDuffie and I’ll never forget the four years I spent there. Then, I had a somewhat busy summer home and in the second half of the year, I headed off to New York City, the city of my dreams, for college. It was even more so emotional than I thought it’d be. It was very hard to leave home, high school and my family and friends to head off to a brand new place. I have discovered so much more about myself and I’ve learned how to live in the moment while maintaining a sense of ambition for the future.

In overall, I had quite an exciting year. I remember having a great and memorable 19th birthday with friends in February. I’ll never forget getting all those college acceptances and stressing out about the big decision. March break brought the amazing trip to a high school dance festival in Miami. The last two months of senior year went by quickly and they were jam-packed with unforgettable memories. The summer brought the AG Bell convention to Orlando; that was a great experience with friends and a presentation. I also worked at the Clarke Summer Camp and went to Maine for a family vacation. The last few weeks of the summer included packing for school. The first month of college was quite crazy, but both memorable and a time of independence. October and November were busy and I was able to settle into a college-like lifestyle. December was a special month of spending the holidays in New York and making it home in time for Christmas and the last string of holidays. I rang in the new year with high school friends. I did indeed enjoy 2010, maybe more than any other year I lived.

As of now, I don’t know what 2011 will bring or what it should be for myself. I want to do big things. I want to put myself out there. And I’m going to make that happen. I know I’m in the perfect place in the world, I’ve met great people, I have had incredible experiences so far. I want to continue that no matter what. The only thing I have to do is make it happen, make my dreams happen. It will take many years, but I’m in college and I’m ready to go. 2011 is the beginning.

Author: Patrick deHahn

International news reporter

Leave a Reply

